Gianluca Bonfanti: Soon You Will Hear About Our New Projects with Ukrainian Companies

Gianluca Bonfanti, director of Bonfanti
Gianluca Bonfanti, director of Bonfanti
Photo by:

Agritechnica 2017 is the ideal place for useful acquaintances and fascinating conversations. By the end of the third day of the exhibition, the meeting with Gianluca Bonfanti, director of Bonfanti and the son of its founder, became an unexpected surprise for us. He personally met the stand visitors with the Italian temperament, enthusiastically told about the advantages of Bonfanti grain dryers.

In the interview with, the head of the company told about the impressions of the main event of the year in the world of agricultural machinery, about new projects with Ukrainian companies and family traditions of the production of grain drying equipment. Gianluca, what are your impressions of Agritechnica?

Gianluca Bonfanti: Stunning! This year, a lot more people visited the exhibition compared to the previous year. And, by the way, I noticed a lot of participants from Ukraine. What products do you represent at the exhibition this year?

Gianluca Bonfanti: Bonfanti displays grain dryers — our main product. We are constantly improving the technology to become the best manufacturer on the market. The main feature of our dryers is the ability to work successfully not only in regular, but also in difficult conditions, for example, drying grain with a high (35% or more) humidity due to unfavorable weather conditions during harvesting. In general, we produce grain dryers with different capacity, which is suitable for both large and small companies. In addition, our dryers are efficient and consume a reasonable amount of electricity.

Gianluca Bonfanti How many Ukrainian clients does Bonfanti have?

Gianluca Bonfanti: Approximately 80 grain dryers are installed on the facilities of Ukrainian companies, among them are Grain Alliance, Green Industry, Viktor and Co. etc. We are also actively involved in the MV Cargo project. We have recently signed a contract to deliver another dryer by next spring. We have been working for 15 years in Ukraine and we know the market well. In the near future you will hear about new projects with Ukrainian companies. Was this year productive for your company?

Gianluca Bonfanti: This year our company has a lot of work. Autumn is quite tense in terms of launching those dryers that were installed in spring and summer. We also produce new dryers. One of the last orders — the Ukrainian client ordered a dryer, which will be delivered by Christmas. My optimism is largely based on the growth of grain exports, because agrarians receive more money and invest it in the development of their grain storing complexes. So, Ukraine is a good market for our products. In addition to weather conditions, there are other risk factors that affect the success of agribusiness in Ukraine. We even joke that agriculture is a kind of roulette. Do not you think the Ukrainian market is risky for your company?

Gianluca Bonfanti: I know such cases, when the owner of the Ukrainian agro-company reasonably used the profit, increasing the company's productivity from year to year. Others invest profits in new companies which soon disappear. I believe that the truth lies somewhere in the middle. Agribusiness and soil are the resources that you can touch, see, and not only find out about the existence of a new company on the Internet. Soil is a resource that cannot be taken away from Ukrainians. This year you are lucky, but everything can change the next year because of bad weather conditions, for example. It is important to make reasonable and balanced decisions. And how do you make decisions in business?

Gianluca Bonfanti: In my work I do my best, I do everything that depends on me. Personally for me it is important to gradually grow and develop not only in terms of business, but also as a person. Sometimes I even get criticized that I, as a director, get too involved. It is absolutely normal for me to personally come, see and check the working process to understand if the company works well and how we can improve our production.

Gianluca Bonfanti In your opinion, what are the main differences between the Ukrainian and the European agribusiness?

Gianluca Bonfanti: The production volume. Ukraine has large areas of land, which makes it possible to increase the output. Ukrainian producers do not overuse chemicals, and the products are of a high quality. Thus, Ukraine produces a quality product in large quantities. At the same time the population of Europe is constantly growing, and the area remains the same. In this sense, Ukraine has great prospects. Ukraine is a bridge between Europe and Asia, and the appropriate state policy will help to take advantage of this. Small farms prevail in Italy, while in Ukraine there are many large agroholdings. What do you think of that?

Gianluca Bonfanti: I see that over the past 15 years large companies appeared in Ukraine, and drove out small ones. Perhaps, there is such a problem in Europe, but it is less evident. Previously, we received orders for small and medium dryers, and now mostly large companies want to buy high-capacity dryers. This is not very good, but, unfortunately, we cannot change this. Ukraine plans to open a land market. Do you think it would be beneficial for Ukrainians?

Gianluca Bonfanti: In terms of profits, yes, as new technologies and money will come to Ukraine. But investors will work for their own profit, but not for the benefit of residents. In the long term perspective it is not very good. But again, for a short period of time, the opening of the land market might be beneficial. Earlier a similar situation was in Romania. Foreign investors brought innovative technologies, and the state benefited as workers began applying new production technologies. But this should be used for development, because a lot of foreign companies make money in Ukraine. A few words about the history of your company?

Gianluca Bonfanti: It all started as a family business. My father founded the company in 1979 and we started working in Northern Italy. My country, although beautiful, is small, so gradually we entered the international market. We started cooperating with neighboring countries — Romania and Hungary. Gradually we improved the dryer capacity. We started with the production of small dryers, and later on we started to produce 10 m high dryers. Back then we thought that it was a big dryer. Now our dryers are up to 33 m high, and this is not the limit. So we gradually developed and grew. We regularly invite to visit our office in Italy, or visit other countries and open our representative offices there.

Gianluca Bonfanti Was it your decision to follow your father’s steps?

Gianluca Bonfanti: I started working with my father, although at first I had other plans. But over time, I changed my mind and it became my lifework. Thank you for the interesting conversation!

Konstantin Tkachenko,

To learn more about agribusiness in Ukraine follow us on Facebook, on our channel in Telegram, and subscribe to our newsletter.

Completed withDisqus

Джанлука Бонфанти: Cкоро вы услышите о наших новых проектах с украинскими компаниями

Джанлука Бонфанти
Джанлука Бонфанти, ди­рек­тор компании Bonfanti
Источник фото: Latifundist.com

Agritechnica 2017 — идеальное место для полезных знакомств и увлекательных бесед. Под занавес третьего дня выставки неожиданным сюрпризом для нас стала встреча с  ди­рек­тором компании Bonfanti и «по совместительству» сыном ее основателя Джанлукой Бонфанти. Он лично встречал гостей выставки и с присущим итальянцам темпераментом увлеченно рассказывал о преимуществах зерносушилок Bonfanti.

В интервью Latifundist.com глава компании рассказал о впечатлениях от главного события года в мире сельхозтехники, о новых проектах с украинскими компаниями и семейных традициях производства зерносушильного оборудования.

Latifundist.com: Джанлука, какие у Вас впечатления от Agritechnica?

Джанлука Бонфанти: Потрясающие! В этом году намного больше людей посетило выставку по сравнению с предыдущей выставкой. И, кстати, я заметил много участников из Украины.

Latifundist.com: Какую продукцию Вы представляете на выставке?

Джанлука Бонфанти: Bonfanti представляет наш основной продукт — зерносушилки. Мы постоянно совершенствуем технологию, чтобы стать лучшим производителем на рынке. Главная особенность наших сушилок — способность успешно работать не только в обычных, но и в сложных условиях. Например, когда приходится сушить зерно с высокой (35% и более) влажностью из-за неблагоприятных погодных условий при уборке. В целом мы производим зерносушилки с большой  и маленькой производительностью, что подойдет как большим, так и маленьким компаниям. Кроме того, наши сушилки потребляют разумное количество электроэнергии.

Latifundist.com: Сколько украинских клиентов в Вашем портфолио?

Джанлука Бонфанти: В Украине установлено около 80 сушилок на производствах таких компаний как Green Alliance, Green Industry, «Виктор и К» и др. Также активно участвуем в проекте MV Cargo. Недавно они подписали с нами контракт на покупку еще одной сушилки. К весне она должна быть готова. В Украине мы работаем уже 15 лет и хорошо знаем рынок. В ближайшем будущем вы услышите о новых проектах с украинскими компаниями. 

Latifundist.com: А насколько продуктивным выдался нынешний год для Вашей компании?

Джанлука Бонфанти: В этом году у нашей компании очень много работы. Осень достаточно напряженная в плане запуска тех сушилок, которые монтировались весной и летом. Есть и новые заказы. Из последнего — украинский клиент заказал у нас сушилку, которая будет доставлена к Рождеству. Мой оптимизм во многом базируется на росте экспорта зерна, ведь у аграриев появилось больше денег, и они их инвестируют в развитие своих элеваторных комплексов. Так что Украина — хороший рынок для нашей продукции.

Зерносушильное оборудование компании Bonfanti
Зерносушильное оборудование компании Bonfanti
Зерносушильное оборудование компании Bonfanti

Latifundist.com: Кроме погоды в Украине достаточно факторов риска, влияющих на успешность агробизнеса. У нас даже шутят, что сельское хозяйство — это своего рода рулетка. Вы не считаете украинский рынок рискованным для своей компании?

Джанлука Бонфанти: Мне знакомы случаи, когда владелец украинской агрокомпании разумно использовал прибыль, наращивая производительность компании из года в год. Другие же инвестируют прибыль в новые компании, которые вскоре исчезают. Я считаю, что истина где-то посредине. Агробизнес и земля — это ресурс, который можно потрогать, увидеть, а не только узнать о существовании новой компании в Интернете. Земля — ресурс, который невозможно отобрать у украинцев. Если в этом году тебе повезет, то в следующем — все может измениться, в том числе из-за плохих погодных условий. Важно взвешенно и с умом принимать решения.

Latifundist.com: А как Вы принимаете решения в бизнесе?

Джанлука Бонфанти: В работе я выкладываюсь по максимуму, делаю все, что зависит от меня. Лично для меня важно постепенно расти и развиваться не только в плане бизнеса, но и как личность. Иногда меня даже критикуют, что я как директор слишком много вникаю в дела. Для меня абсолютно нормально лично приехать, посмотреть и проверить работу, чтобы понимать, хорошо ли работает компания и как нам улучшить производство.

Latifundist.com: По Вашему мнению, какие главные различия между украинским агробизнесом и европейским?

Джанлука Бонфанти: В объемах производства. Украина имеет большие площади земли, что позволяет масштабировать производство. Украинские производители не используют много химикатов, и это хорошо влияет на качество продукции. Таким образом, Украина производит качественный продукт в больших объемах. При этом население Европы постоянно растет, а площадь остается прежней. В этом смысле вы имеете большие перспективы. Украина — своеобразный мост между Европой и Азией, правильная государственная политика поможет использовать такое положение.

Latifundist.com: Италия — это в первую очередь небольшие фермерские хозяйства. Вы не видите риска в том, что Украина развивается по пути крупных агрохолдингов?

Джанлука Бонфанти: В течение последних 15 лет я наблюдал, как в Украине начали появляться крупные компании, которые вытесняли небольшие. Возможно, не в таких масштабах, но и в Европе такая проблема имеет место. Раньше мы получали заказы на маленькие и средние сушилки, а сейчас в основном крупные компании хотят покупать большие сушилки. Это не очень хорошо, но, к сожалению, мы не можем этого изменить.

Зерносушильное оборудование компании Bonfanti
Зерносушильное оборудование компании Bonfanti
Зерносушильное оборудование компании Bonfanti

Latifundist.com: Украина планирует открыть рынок земли. Как Вы считаете, выгодно ли это украинцам?

Джанлука Бонфанти: В плане прибыли — да, поскольку новые технологии и деньги придут с открытием рынка земли в Украину. Но инвесторы, которые придут, будут работать для собственной прибыли, а не во благо жителей. В долгосрочной перспективе это не очень хорошо. Но опять же, на краткий срок может принести пользу. Ранее подобная ситуация была в Румынии. Иностранные инвесторы привезли инновационные технологии, и это принесло пользу государству, поскольку работники начали внедрять новые технологии производства. Но это нужно использовать для развития, ведь очень много иностранных компаний зарабатывают в Украине.

Latifundist.com: Расскажите об истории Вашей компании.

Джанлука Бонфанти: Все начиналось как семейный бизнес. Мой отец основал компанию в 1979 году. Мы начали работать в Северной Италии. Моя страна хоть и красивая, но все же маленькая, поэтому постепенно вышли на международный рынок. Начали с соседних государств — Румынии и Венгрии. Постепенно у нас увеличивалась производительность сушилок. Мы начинали с маленьких агрегатов, потом начали производить сушилки высотой в 10 м. Тогда думали, что это много. Сейчас же наши сушилки высотой до 33 м, и это не предел. Так мы постепенно развивались и росли. Регулярно приглашаем посетить наш офис в Италии или посещаем другие страны и открываем там свои представительства.

Latifundist.com: Вы изначально решили пойти по родительским стопам?

Джанлука Бонфанти: Я начал работать с отцом, хотя сначала у меня были другие планы. Но со временем «прикипел» к сельскому хозяйству и это стало делом всей жизни.

Latifundist.com: Благодарим за интересную беседу! 

Константин Ткаченко, Latifundist.com

Узнавайте первыми самые свежие новости агробизнеса Украины на нашей странице в Facebook, канале в Telegram, скачивайте приложение в AppStore, подписывайтесь на нас в Instagram или на нашу рассылку.

Выполнено с помощью Disqus