The Voice of the People: What the Vinnytsia Community Think About the Construction of a Biogas Complex by Myronivsky Hliboproduct

MHP Biogas complex construction in Vinnytsia region
MHP Biogas complex construction in Vinnytsia region
Photo by: Latifundist.com

The palace of culture of the village of Bilousivka in the Vinnytsia region came alive with people and voices. The public hearing on “the assessment of the environmental impact of building the second phase of the biogas plant at the Vinnytsia Poultry Factory by Myronivsky Hliboproduct (MHP)” made people abandon their routine and take an active interest in the local matters. Despite the wordy phrasing, the aim of the hearing was crystal-clear: how the plant would affect the environment.

A year ago, the locals approved the building of the first phase of the plant on the territory of the nearby Vasilievka village.

Today, the stakes are higher given the recent Agromars environmental scandal and the complaints against the Vinnytsia Poultry Factory filed by several Vinnytsia villagers to the World Bank and EBRD. The hearing was also attended by eco-activists. According to the law passed last December, companies are obliged to assess the environmental impact of such plants prior to building them.

In the hall, all eyes were on Igor Leshchenko, the executive director of the Vinnytsia Poultry Factory, who was talking about the launching of the two phases of the biogas production which would allow recycling the chicken manure of the Factory into thermal energy, electricity, and organic fertilizers. He spoke in details about the construction and operation of the complex, and its influence on the environment.

Igor Leshchenko, the executive director of the Vinnytsia Poultry Factory

Here are the highlights of what was discussed.

Land

The second phase of the complex, including all the main and minor buildings, and the biogas production site, will cover 22 ha of land.

Location

According to the map Igor Leshchenko showed, the second phase will be located next to the abandoned quarry away from the residential area. The nearest house is 1 km away (the legal requirement is 500 m), the river is 500 km away (it should be no closer than 200 m by the law).

The products of the biogas complex

The complex will recycle the manure and production waste such as sludge and water from poultry houses, fat and corn silage.

The complex will include heat generators, i.e. steam boilers which convert natural gas into electricity and thermal energy. The generators will provide energy for MHP and the region. 10,000 kWh of electricity per hour that the complex will produce is enough energy for 15-20 thou. apartments. The energy will be used to the full. It will cover 40% of the energy needed for the slaughterhouse and help economize 10 mln m3 of the natural gas.

The generators should be located at least 300 m away from human settlements. In this case, Ladyzhyn village is 1.5 km away from the complex.

The transportation of raw materials

The transportation of raw materials was one of the most burning questions with the villagers. Igor Leshchenko assured people that the trucks transporting the raw materials from the farm would not pass the residential areas on their way to the Bilousivka complex. According to Mr. Leshchenko, the company planned to build concrete roads which would bypass the villages, so the residents did not have to worry about that.

Manure storage

Due to technical reasons, manure accumulation is inevitable. The poultry houses are thoroughly cleaned every 60 days. It takes 9 poultry houses to provide the biogas complex with manure. During the cleaning, the complex will operate on the manure delivered by the trucks for 28 days, the rest 32 days the manure will accumulate and it needs to be stored somewhere. Currently, the company is building a special storage.

Fertilizers

The biogas complex can recycle 460 tons of manure daily, i.e. 170 thou. tons per year, and extract solid and liquid fractions.

Solid fractions make for valuable fertilizers. It is devoid of the characteristic manure smell. The new complex will help decrease the area allotted to manure dumping sites 5-fold. According to Igor Leshchenko, the permitted amount of manure should not exceed 20 t/ha depending on the type of the soil. After the processing at the complex, the amount may be increased to 100 t/ha.

Liquid fraction may be applied like any other fertilizer during the vegetation period. The complex can produce 150 thou. tons of the product. It will be stored in special reservoirs for 100 thou. tons — the lagoons — at the complex. The fraction will be applied twice a year in spring and fall, which means that the lagoons capacities will be more than enough.

MHP Biogas complex construction in Vinnytsia region

Job opportunities

The new facility will employ 30 people. In general, the complex will provide 66 workplaces.

Pollution risks

The production processes of poultry factories inevitably lead to increased atmospheric emissions. Igor Leshchenko told that the biogas plant would help to partially solve the problem by reducing the emission to 85 thou. tons per year.

However, Anna Danilyak, a representative of the public organization Ecodia, noted that the biogas complex belongs to objects of increased environmental danger.

“We run risks since it is a very technologically complex process. The capacities are unparalleled to those of any similar plants in Europe. Thus, it is important to analyze the risks very carefully. Another thing to consider is the density of industrial buildings in the area. 80% of all the emissions of the Vinnytsia region are concentrated here. It is home to the Vinnytsia Poultry Factory and Ladyzhyn TPS, now they want to build the biogas complex here,” she said.

Anna Danilyak, a representative of the public organization Ecodia

Another popular question concerned the risk of contaminating the soil and consequently the groundwater with liquid waste. Besides, people expressed concern that the complex of that size would use up all the local water supply. Igor Leshchenko assured that the complex requires 5.5 m3 of water which would come from centralized chains. Thus, there should be enough water for everybody.

The MHP representative also noted that the walls of the lagoons would consist of packed clay covered with 1.5 mm membrane used by wastewater treatment plants. The service life of the membrane is 50 years. He remarked that there was not a remote possibility of groundwater contamination since it ran 8 meters deep.

Learning from mistakes

The presentation of the project featured a movie about the MHP biogas complex in the Dnipropetrovsk region. Igor Leshchenko admitted some flaws in its construction which they would try to avoid in Vinnytsia.

A citizen of Ladyzhyn Yuriy Nagornyi expressed doubts about the improvements. He told that his mother lived near the biogas complex.

“The stench never easies off. The clothes smell of it for three days after you leave the place. People have the right to clean air. I live in Ladyzhyn and I can tell that the Vinnytsia Poultry Factory makes the air impossible to breathe,” complains the man.

A citizen of Ladyzhyn Yuriy Nagornyi

In his turn, Ivan Traxler, the director of the MHP Eco Energy, told that the biogas complexes that recycle organic waste, namely chicken manure, had been successfully operating in Europe for 20 years causing no complaints because they were designed to neutralize the smell not to cause it.

“This technology has been successfully developed by our company in the Dnepropetrovsk region, where 100% of the manure is utilized. There is no smell, the chicken manure directly enters the biogas plant without additional storage and transshipment,” added the MHP representative.

Ivan Traxler, the director of the MHP Eco Energy

Most of the residents of Bilousivka and the nearby villages do not mind the construction of the complex. The main motivating factor for supporting the construction is the social policy of the holding. A lady from Bilousivka, Lyubov Maksimchuk, pointed out that the Vinnytsia Poultry Factory provides people with jobs and fulfills its social responsibility.

“Compared to other regions, people feel more optimistic here and the youngsters choose to stay in the village. There is a job for everyone at the Factory. Only a few people oppose the construction of the plant,” added Lyubov Maksimchuk.

Nadezhda Bezpiatachuk, a resident of the neighbouring village of Bogdanivka told us she came to learn of the decision of the Bilousivka people. Her village agreed to the building of the MHP poultry houses and did not regret it.

“I have four grandkids and UAH 1700 of pension. It is very important for retired people like me to get discounts at the local store. People are very grateful to MHP for that. The holding has also built new roads in the village. Children used to have difficulty getting to school. We had to ask once and they built the roads right away,” she explained.

A representative of the Ministry of Ecology and Natural Resources of Ukraine Victoria Tymoshenko said that the Ministry would need to analyze the report on the environmental impact of the complex to determine the environmental conditions of the complex construction.

In the meantime, Latifundist.com will keep you in the loop about the latest biogas developments.

Completed withDisqus

Глас народа: что думают о строительстве биогазового завода МХП винницкие громады

Строительство биогазового комплекса МХП в Винницкой области
Строительство биогазового комплекса МХП в Винницкой области
Источник фото: Latifundist.com

В доме культуры села Билоусовка в Винницкой области многолюдно и шумно. Размеренную жизнь местных жителей нарушил неординарный повод — общественные слушания «по оценке влияния на окружающую среду строительства 2-й очереди биогазового завода Винницкой птицефабрики «Мироновского Хлебопродукта» (МХП)». Сложная формулировка, понятный посыл — влияние на экологию биогазового комплекса.

Год назад на таких слушаниях местные жители согласовали строительство 1-й очереди на землях соседнего села Васильевка.

Общественные слушания «по оценке влияния на окружающую среду строительства 2-й очереди биогазового завода Винницкой птицефабрики МХП»

Однако сегодня внимание к мероприятию на порядок выше. Причиной тому послужил не только эко-скандал с Агромарсом, но и недавние жалобы нескольких жителей винницких сел во Всемирный банк и ЕБРР на Винницкую птицефабрику. Также приехали на слушания и несколько экоактивистов. Напомним, что после вступления в силу в декабре прошлого года соответствующего закона компании при строительстве такого рода объектов обязаны проводить оценку их влияния на окружающую среду.  

В битком набитом активом зале уже знакомый нам по недавнему пресс-туру исполнительный директор «Винницкой птицефабрики» Игорь Лещенко рассказывает, что запуск обеих очередей биогазового производства позволит перерабатывать весь куриный помет с птицефабрики в тепловую и электрическую энергию и получать органические удобрения. Он поведал о нюансах строительства, работы и влияния на окружающую среду 2-й очереди комплекса.

Игорь Лещенко, исполнительный директор «Винницкой птицефабрики»

Территория

Для введения в действие 2-й очереди нужно 22 га территории. На них планируется разместить весь комплекс основных и вспомогательных зданий и сооружений комплекса по производству биогаза.

Расположение

Игорь Лещенко демонстрирует на карте, что 2-я очередь находится вне жилой зоны рядом с заброшенным карьером. Расстояние к ближайшему дому 1 км (законодательное требование 500 м), к речке — 500 м (нужно не ближе 200 м).

Куда пойдут «продукты» биогазового комплекса

На биогазовом комплексе будут перерабатываться куриный помет, отходы производства птицефабрики — шлам, вода из птичников с остатками жира, кукурузный силос.

Будут построены пункты теплогенерации. Другими словами, это паровые котлы, где сжигается природный газ, при этом образовывается электрическая и тепловая энергия. Первая обеспечивает потребности МХП, но также пойдет и на нужды области. Биокомплекс позволит получать 10 тыс. кВт в час. Этой энергии хватило бы на 15-20 тыс. квартир. Тепловая энергия будет использоваться на 100%. Ею закроют 40% нужд забойного цеха. То есть природного газа в год можно будет сэкономить порядка 10 млн м³.

Теплогенерирующие установки должны находиться на расстояние минимум 300 м от населенных пунктов. В данном случае это Ладыжин, расстояние до него почти 1,5 км.  

Доставка сырья

Это один из волнующих вопросов, который чаще всего задавали местные жители представителям МХП. Игорь Лещенко уверяет, что перевозить  сырье с птицефабрики на Белоусовский комплекс будут не по населенным пунктам, поэтому причин для волнений нет. Это будут объездные пути, компания специально для этого построит дорогу с бетонным покрытием в обход села.

Хранения помета

В силу производственных нюансов происходит накопление сырья. Почему? Дело в том, что птичники работают 60 дней, затем идет их очистка. Для обеспечения пометом биогазового комплекса надо 9 птичников. Во время чистки 28 дней комплекс будет работать на помете, который доставляется «с колес». Получается, что оставшиеся 32 дня помет будет скапливаться. Однако для хранения строятся специальные резервуары.

Удобрения

За день одна очередь биогазового комплекса сможет перерабатывать 460 т помета, т. е. за год получится 170 тыс. т. Образовывается твердая и жидкая фракции.

Твердая фракция — это ценное удобрение. При этом она не имеет того запаха, который есть у помета. Новый комплекс позволит в 5 раз сократить площади под внесение отходов куриного помета. Как рассказал Игорь Лещенко, в зависимости от результатов лабораторного анализа почвы и согласно законодательным нормам, максимальное количество внесенных в почву удобрений может составлять 20 т/га. Но после переработки на биогазовом комплексе объем может вырасти и составить до 100 т/га.

Жидкая фракция вносится в поля как любое удобрение во время вегетационного  периода. За год комплекс сможет производить 150 тыс. т этого продукта. На предприятии построят специальные резервуары для его хранения на 100 тыс. т — лагуны. Жидкую фракцию будут вносить  дважды — весной и осенью, соответственно, по словам исполнительного директора птицефабрики, емкостей для хранения хватит с лихвой.

Строительство биогазового комплекса

Рабочие места: На второй очереди будут заняты 30 человек, а всего на комплексе — 66.  

Риски загрязнения

Работа птицефабрики неизбежно приводит к увеличению выбросов в атмосферу. Биогазовый завод, по словам Игоря Лещенко, частично решает эту проблему, ведь поможет сократить выбросы на 85 тыс. т в год.

Однако присутствующая на слушаниях Анна Даниляк, представитель общественной организации «Экодия», обратила внимание, что биогазовый комплекс относится к объектам повышенной экологической опасности.

«Риски существуют, это сложный технологический процесс, аналогов по мощностям которому нет в Европе. Поэтому важно очень внимательно и скрупулезно все проанализировать. К тому же вызывает удивление плотность застройки в этих местах, здесь сосредоточено 80% всех загрязнений воздуха в Винницкой области. Здесь расположены Винницкая птицефабрика и Ладыжинская ТЭС, вот еще хотят построить биогазовый комплекс», — отметила она.

Анна Даниляк, представитель общественной организации «Экодия»

Еще один из наиболее задаваемых вопросов риск попадания жидких отходов в землю, а потом и того хуже в подземные воды. Кроме этого местные жители выразили опасение, что такого масштаба объект будет «забирать» всю воду. Игорь Лещенко говорит, что для работы комплекса нужно в сутки 5,5 м³ воды, и к тому же воду берут из централизованных сетей. Поэтому ее «хватит всем».

Что касается попадания в землю отходов из тех же лагун, представитель МХП поясняет, что стенки этих емкостей состоят из утрамбованной глины, которая покрывается специальной мембраной толщиной 1,5 мм. Она имеет срок годности 50 лет и используется в очистных сооружениях. Даже гипотетического риска попадания в грунтовые воды, по его мнению, нет, т. к. они находятся на глубине 8 метров.

Днепропетровский след

Во время презентации показали фильм о биогазовом комплексе МХП на Днепропетровщине. Игорь Лещенко отметил, что там были допущены некоторые упущения, которых попытались избежать в Винницкой области.

Житель Ладыжина Юрий Нагорный выразил сомнения по этому поводу. Он рассказывает, что его мать проживает неподалеку от того биогазового комплекса.

«Там стоит постоянная вонь, три дня одежда пропитана этим запахом. Человек имеет право на чистый воздух. Я, как житель Ладыжина, могу сказать, что уже сейчас невыносимо дышать из-за Винницкой птицефабрики», — сетует он.

Юрий Нагорный, житель Ладыжина

В свою очередь директор компании «МХП Eco Energy» Иван Тракслер рассказал, что биогазовые комплексы, которые утилизируют органические отходы, в частности куриный помет, успешно работают в Европе уже более 20 лет. И претензии, связанные с неприятным запахом, у европейцев не возникают, т. к. эти объекты как раз устранят его.

«Эта технология успешно отработана нашей компанией в Днепропетровской области, где утилизируется 100% помета. Запаха нет, куриный помет напрямую попадает в биогазовую установку без дополнительного складирования и перевалки», — добавил представитель МХП.

Иван Тракслер, директор компании «МХП Eco Energy»

Опрошенные нами жители Белоусовки и других сел в большинстве (хотя и не все) не против строительства комплекса. В основном связывают это с социальной политикой холдинга. Так, жительница Белоусовки Любовь Максимчук отметила, что Винницкая птицефабрика обеспечивает работой селян и выполняет социальные обязательства.

«У людей появился оптимизм, в отличие от других регионов, молодежь не уезжает на заработки. Работа на птицефабрике есть для всех. Против очень малая часть», — добавила Любовь Максимчук.

Любовь Максимчук, жительница Белоусовки
Надежда Безпятчук, жительница села Богдановка
Виктория Тимошенко, представитель Министерства экологии и природных ресурсов

В свою очередь, жительница соседнего села Богдановка Надежда Безпятчук рассказала, что их селу важно услышать мнение Белоусовки. В свое время, по ее словам, жители Богдановки дали согласие на строительство птичников МХП.

«У меня четверо внуков, пенсия 1700 гривен. Для нас, пенсионеров, важно, что есть социальный магазин, где дешевле можно купить продукты, люди очень благодарны за это. Также МХП сделали нам тротуары в нашем селе, детям в школу было опасно ходить. Один раз сказали сразу же построили», добавляет она.

Присутствующая на слушаниях представитель Министерства экологии и природных ресурсов Виктория Тимошенко отметила, что после того, как ведомство проанализирует отчет о влиянии на окружающую среду, будут определены экологические условия деятельности по строительству комплекса. Latifundist.com, в свою очередь, будет держать руку на биогазовом «пульсе». 

Выполнено с помощью Disqus