Eggs Market in Ukraine: Hard-Boiled or Soft-Boiled?


Photo by: Pexels.com

In Europe, the egg scandal does not abate, but it is gaining momentum. Products contaminated with fipronil are withdrawn from the sale, and there are already reports that Poland is interested in increasing the export of Ukrainian eggs. Latifundist.com decided to explore the situation in the domestic market and learn important details of the industrial production of eggs. We speak here about export, pricing, sales channels and much more.

Market profile

According to the Antimonopoly Committee of Ukraine, the largest players of the egg market in Ukraine are still the well-known giants: Ovostar Union Group with a market share of 13.68%, Agroholding Avangard with a market share of 14.73%, and Inter-AgroSystems group of companies with a market share of 12,02%.

Today in Ukraine, the production of eggs has enough opportunities to fully meet the demands of the domestic market. At the same time, changes in the market are closely related and deeply dependent on the export supplies of key players. Thus, an increase in production by 1.6% (according to State Statistics Service), recorded this year, does not mean the real increase in the number of eggs for the consumer market.

The difficult economic situation in the country led to a decrease in the purchasing ability of the population and a reduction in the egg consumption. This, in turn, affects the production volumes of Ukrainian poultry producers. The further growth of production indicators, first of all, will be stimulated by renewed demand for Ukrainian eggs and egg products in foreign markets.

There are two factors that affect the production volumes in the domestic market. First of all, the development of sales markets by increasing the supplies and opening of new directions, for example, by obtaining certificates in compliance with the EU quality requirements. Let us remind that in mid-September, Ovostar Union (Yasensvit) received a certificate to supply shell eggs to the EU countries. In early October, the first deliveries of products to Poland and other countries were made within the non-tariff quota.

Secondly, it is the production of egg products, which is an effective way to reduce the surplus of eggs in the market and to regulate prices. As a result, the export rate has exceeded the production rates, since producers receive a better margin from the export of eggs.

How much is a dozen?

Talking about the pricing over the last few months, a significant price growth was observed in August, when the cost of eggs increased by more than 50% from 14 UAH to 20 UAH per dozen in a month. In autumn, the growth rate fell, but prices continued to rise. In late October, the average price of a dozen eggs is almost twice as high as at the end of July — 13.9 UAH and 23 UAH, respectively. But these are the usual seasonal indicators, which are observed from year to year. According to Sergei Karpenko, CEO of the Association of Poultry Breeders of Ukraine, the price for eggs will continue to grow until March 2018.

"It is necessary to take into account the seasonal factor — the fall in prices in spring and their growth in autumn. Also, the price dynamicsis influenced by the poultry diseases (number of dead birds, poultry slaughter, ban on the sale of eggs from several regions, etc.). In the end, the final price is influenced by the policy of the largest producers: price increases due to the expected changes in the market, competitiveness, rising prices before the holidays, etc.," said Aleksandr Sokolov, CEO of Pro-Consulting.

Aleksandr Sokolov, CEO of Pro-Consulting

The egg price creates demand. The pricing depends on many factors. Firstly, the cost of production which includes feed, veterinary drugs, employee salaries and poultry farm expenses. The second significant factor is the supply in the market: the number of eggs received in the households, the industrial poultry stock, and the share of exported eggs.

External focus

Ukraine has significantly increased the export of eggs, and this can lead to price growth in the domestic market. After all, the demand inside the country always exists, and with the rapidly growing export volumes, prices react correspondently.

The largest egg producers are also the largest exporters. Therefore, export supplies can have a significant impact on the prices in Ukraine. For example, in spring this year, the maximum decline in prices over the past 5 years was recorded. It happened due to the export ban on eggs and egg products of Ukrainian origin because of avian influenza and salmonella. In May, the price fell even to 6-6.6 UAH for a dozen.

The seasonal supply and the constant demand are also important. But the price cannot remain unchanged, and it directly depends on the average annual price. For example, starting from May, the price may drop to 30% of the production cost, and the enterprise will operate at a loss, and in autumn, on the contrary, the price is higher. After all, in the cold season, egg production declines, the cost price grows up because of the expenses for facilities heating and feed. An important factor here is the policy of retail chains. The egg market is constantly balancing between the supply and demand that form the price.

Where do we export?

Sales of eggs in Ukraine is carried out through direct and indirect marketing. Direct marketing occurs by selling in the market through own trading network. In the case of indirect sales, manufacturers sell products to trading networks and distribution companies. These manufacturers sell the bulk amount of eggs in Ukraine.

Since export constitutes approximately 40% of the total production, we will pay a special attention to the issue. Compared with 2016, egg export increased by 36-37%.

According to Oleg Katerynych, the director of the State Experimental Poultry Station, the structure of exports in 2017 changed. The share of the European and African countries has grown, but such changes are the result of the decrease in export of Ukrainian eggs to Asian countries. The main partner countries reduced the purchase of shell eggs: Iraq — by 61.8% (or USD 24 million) and the United Arab Emirates — by 15.4% (or USD 3.6 million). In turn, Denmark, the main consumer of Ukrainian eggs without a shell, reduced purchases by 34.9% (or USD 8.4 million). The share of African countries grew due to the increase in supplies to Liberia by USD$ 1.4 million, to Tunisia — by USD 1.1 million, and to Egypt — by USD 0.6 million.

"In 2017, the main export destinations for Ovostar Union were the Middle East and Africa — the UAE, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Oman, Bahrain, Liberia, Libya, and Sierra Leone. Recently, our company has received permission to export chicken eggs class A (edible eggs) to the EU countries. In October, production deliveries to the Baltic States began. Due to the deficit of chicken eggs in some European countries, we plan to increase exports to Europe," said Alla Goloborodko, brand manager of Ovostar Union.

In 2016, the main importers were the UAE with a share of 25.8% of the total Ukrainian egg exports, Denmark — 22.1%, and Iraq — 20.7%. This year, the main buyer was the UAE with a 67% share of all exports.

Don't panic, it's organic!

The popularity of organic products is growing by leaps and bounds. Production of organic eggs can soon become a trend in the poultry industry. At the moment, there are three certified organic egg producers in Ukraine: Eggs from Yablonskaya, Leleka-92 and Agro Radekhiv. The organic production process should be as natural as possible, and without the use of chemical preparations.

"Europeans are very attentive to their health, so the consumption of fresh and natural products is one of the most important aspects of their nutrition. Therefore, this direction has prospects for development and sufficient demand from foreign countries," said Oleg Katerinich, CEO of the State Experimental Poultry Station.

Unlike meat, vegetables and grains, in the production of which chemicals and pesticides can be used, organic eggs differ from ordinary eggs on other criteria. The quality of eggs does not depend on their color or the color of the shell. First of all, the eggs should be fresh and poultry should be kept and fed properly.

The situation in the market could be called stable, unless the increasing demand from EU countries. Time will show, how much chicken eggs will cost in Ukraine given the export increases. In the meantime, Ukrainian producers completely satisfy the needs of the domestic market.

Sofia Yaroshenko, Latifundist.com

To learn more about agribusiness in Ukraine, follow us on Facebook, on our channel in Telegram, and subscribe to our newsletter.

Completed withDisqus

Рынок яиц в Украине: вкрутую или всмятку?

Яйца

Источник фото: Pexels.com

В Европе яичный скандал не только не утихает, но и набирает обороты. Продукты, зараженные фипронилом, изымают из продажи, и уже поступают сообщения, что Польша заинтересовалась увеличением экспорта украинского яйца. Latifundist.com решил разведать ситуацию на отечественном рынке и узнать важные подробности промышленного производства яиц. Мы расскажем вам об экспорте, ценообразовании, каналах реализации и о многом другом.

Срез по рынку

По данным Антимонопольного комитета Украины, крупнейшими игроками рынка яиц в Украине по-прежнему остаются давно известные гиганты ― это группа компаний «Овостар Юнион» с долей на рынке 13,68%, агрохолдинг «Авангард» ― 14,73%, группа компаний «Интер-Агросистемы» ― 12,02%.

Производство яиц в Украине сегодня имеет достаточно возможностей для полного обеспечения запросов внутреннего рынка. При этом изменения на рынке тесно связаны и глубоко зависимы от экспортных поставок основных игроков. Так, увеличение объемов производства на 1,6% (по данным Госстата), зафиксированное в нынешнем году, еще не означает увеличение реального количества яиц для потребительского рынка.

Сложная экономическая ситуация в стране повлекла за собой снижение покупательной способности населения и сокращение потребления яиц. Это, в свою очередь, влияет на объемы производства украинских птицеводов. Дальнейший рост производственных показателей, прежде всего, будет стимулироваться возобновлением спроса на яйцо и яичные продукты из Украины на внешних рынках.

Существует два фактора, которые влияют на количество продукции на отечественном рынке. Во-первых, развитие внешних рынков сбыта ― увеличение объемов по имеющимся направлениям поставок и открытие новых направлений. Например, путем получения производителями сертификатов качества ЕС. Напомним, что в середине сентября ГК «Овостар Юнион» (ТМ «Ясенсвит») получила сертификат для поставок яиц в скорлупе в страны ЕС. В начале октября начались первые поставки продукции в Польшу и другие страны в рамках нетарифной квоты.

Во-вторых, это производство яичных продуктов, которое может выступать и как способ уменьшения избытка яиц на рынке, и как способ регуляции цен. В результате выходит, что темпы роста экспорта превысили темпы роста производства, поскольку в последнее время производители получают лучшую маржу от продажи яиц за границу.

Нажмите для увеличения

Почем десяток?

Если говорить о динамике ценообразования на протяжении последних нескольких месяцев, то значительный темп роста цен наблюдался в августе, когда за месяц стоимость яиц выросла более чем на 50%, с 14 грн до 20 грн за десяток. Осенью темп роста снизился, но цены продолжают расти. В конце октября средняя цена десятка яиц почти вдвое выше, чем была в конце июля — 13,9 грн и 23 грн соответственно. Но это обычные сезонные показатели, которые наблюдаются из года в год. По словам исполнительного директора ассоциации «Союз птицеводов Украины» Сергея Карпенко, цены на яйца продолжат свой рост до марта 2018 года.

Нажмите для увеличения

«Необходимо учитывать сезонный фактор ― падение цен весной и их рост осенью. Также на ценовую динамику влияет ситуация с болезнями птиц (количество умерших, забой птицы, запрет на продажу яйца из зараженных регионов и т.д.). В конце концов, на конечную цену влияет сама политика крупнейших производителей ― повышение цен с учетом ожидаемых изменений на рынке, конкуренция, рост цен в период праздников и прочее», ― сообщил генеральный директор компании Pro-Consulting Александр Соколов.

Александр Соколов, генеральный директор компании Pro-Consulting

Цена на яйцо формирует спрос. Само же ценообразование зависит от многих факторов. Во-первых, влияет себестоимость производства. К основным статьям расходов относятся корм, ветеринарные препараты, заработная плата работников и расходы птицефабрики. Вторым значимым фактором является предложение на рынке: количество яиц, полученных в хозяйствах населения, промышленное поголовье несушек, доля экспортируемых яиц.

Внешний курс

В Украине существенно вырос экспорт яиц, и это может послужить катализатором роста цен на внутреннем рынке. Ведь спрос внутри страны существует всегда, а в условиях быстро растущих объемов экспорта ― цены тоже стремительно растут.

Крупнейшие производители яиц являются одновременно и крупнейшими экспортерами. Поэтому экспортные поставки могут оказывать существенное влияние на ценовую ситуацию в Украине. Например, весной этого года было зафиксировано максимальное снижение цен за последние 5 лет в связи с запретом со стороны основных импортеров на ввоз яиц и яичных продуктов украинского производства из-за птичьего гриппа и сальмонеллы. В мае цена опускалась даже до 6-6,6 грн за десяток.

Важен также вопрос сезонного предложения при постоянном спросе. Но не меняться цена не может, она напрямую зависит от среднегодовой. Например, начиная с мая месяца цена может снизиться до 30% от себестоимости, и предприятие будет работать в убыток, а осенью, наоборот, цена выше. Ведь в холодную пору года производство яиц сокращается, себестоимость растет из-за необходимости отопления помещений и высоких цен на корма. Важным фактором здесь является и политика торговых сетей. Рынок яиц постоянно балансирует из-за спроса и предложения, которые формируют цену.

Куда экспортируем?

Реализация яиц в Украине осуществляется через прямой и непрямой сбыт. Прямой происходит путем продажи на рынках через собственную торговую сеть. В случае непрямого сбыта производители реализуют продукцию торговым сетям и дистрибьюторским фирмам. Именно на них и приходится основная часть продаж яиц в Украине.

Но на экспорт приходится почти 40% от всего производства, поэтому мы остановимся на этой теме более подробно. По сравнению с 2016 г. продажи яиц за границу выросли на 36-37%.

По словам директора Государственной опытной станции птицеводства НААН Олега Катеринича, в 2017 г. структура экспорта изменилась. Выросла доля стран Европы и Африки, но подобные изменения являются результатом уменьшения объемов закупки украинских яиц странами Азии. Основные страны-партнеры уменьшили закупку яиц в скорлупе: Ирак ― на 61,8% (на $24 млн), ОАЭ ― 15,4% (на $3,6 млн). В свою очередь, Дания, основной потребитель украинских яиц без скорлупы, уменьшила закупки на 34,9% (на $8,4 млн). Доля стран Африки выросла за счет увеличения поставок в Либерию на $1,4 млн, в Тунис на $1,1 млн, в Египет на $0,6 млн.

«В 2017 году основными направлениями экспорта яиц компании «Овостар Юнион» были страны Ближнего Востока и Африки ― ОАЭ, Катар, Саудовская Аравия, Оман, Бахрейн, Либерия, Ливия, Сьерра-Леоне. Недавно наша компания получила разрешение на экспорт куриного яйца класса А (столовое яйцо) в страны Европейского Союза. В октябре уже начались поставки продукции в страны Балтии. На фоне дефицита куриного яйца в некоторых европейских странах мы планируем увеличивать экспортные поставки в Европу», ― сообщила бренд-менеджер ГК «Овостар Юнион» Алла Голобородько.

В 2016 г. основными импортерами были ОАЭ с долей 25,8% всего украинского экспорта яиц, Дания ― 22,1%, и Ирак ― 20,7%. В нынешнем году все же основным покупателем остались ОАЭ с долей всех экспортных поставок 67%.

Don’t panic, it’s organic!

Популярность органических продуктов растет не по дням, а по часам. Производство органических яиц скоро может стать трендом птицеводческой отрасли. На данный момент в Украине есть три сертифицированных производителя органических яиц: «Яйца от Яблонской», «Лелека-92» и «Агро Радехив». Процесс производства там должен быть максимально натуральным, без использования химических препаратов.

«Европейцы очень внимательно относятся к своему здоровью, поэтому потребление свежих и натуральных продуктов ― это один из важнейших аспектов их питания. Поэтому это направление имеет хорошие перспективы развития и достаточный спрос со стороны иностранных государств», ― считает директор Государственной опытной станции птицеводства НААН Олег Катеринич.

В отличие от мяса, овощей, зерна, в производстве которых могут быть задействованы химикаты и пестициды, органические яйца отличаются от обычных совсем по другим критериям. Поскольку качество яиц не зависит от их сорта или цвета скорлупы. На первом месте их свежесть, а также место содержания, питание и состояние птиц, которые их несут.

Ситуацию на рынке можно было бы назвать стабильной, если бы не повышающиеся запросы со стороны европейских стран. Сколько в итоге будут стоить куриные яйца в Украине в условиях наращивания объемов экспорта, покажет время. А пока украинские производители полностью закрывают потребности внутреннего рынка.

София Ярошенко, Latifundist.com

Узнавайте первыми самые свежие новости агробизнеса Украины на нашей странице в Facebook, канале в Telegram, скачивайте приложение в AppStore, подписывайтесь на нас в Instagram или на нашу рассылку.

Выполнено с помощью Disqus